Landacre receives Millikin's employee of the year honor

2014-04-23T00:00:00Z Landacre receives Millikin's employee of the year honorBOB FALLSTROM H&R Community News Editor

DECATUR – A longtime employee has been recognized as Millikin University's employee of the year for 2013-2014.

It was a popular choice, judging from the applause during a standing ovation for Cindy Landacre at the employee recognition program April 15.

She joined Millikin as a secretary in 1997 and was promoted to administrative assistant in the Tabor School of Business in July 2003. Named employee of the month in December, she joined nine others in the running for employee of the year, selected by an eight-person committee.

She assists Dean Susan Kruml and other faculty members. Her nomination includes descriptions such as “resourceful,” “involved,” “always ready to help.”

A 1975 Lakeview High School graduate, Landacre was a secretary in the Decatur public schools for 10 years .

Before and after working hours she is a 30-year runner, having completed nine marathons (26 miles,375 yards) and numerous half-marathons. She's entered this weekend in the Illinois Marathon in Champaign-Urbana.

“I have a running family,” she points out. “My husband, Mike, has been a coach at Johns Hill Magnet School for 20 years and we organize the Staley Striders and the summer runs at Fairview Park. My children run too.” The children, all of whom graduated from Millikin, are Lisa Landacre, Lori Leeper and Amanda Podeschi. Sons-in-law R. J. Podeschi and Jarred Leeper are also runners.”

The rewards for winning this race include one week additional paid vacation, a $100 gift from President Pat White and 27 gift certificates from Millikin offices and Decatur businesses.

Landacre's competition included:

Matt Nadelhoffer, men's basketball coach

Laura Birch, coordinatror of institutional research

Deania Luthy, security officer/parking coordinator

Lisa Lindsey, senior accountant

Angie Hawk Cox, associate director of donor engagement

Kim Crow, administrative assistant behavioral sciences/modern languages

Amanda Barnes, security officer/dispatcher

Stacy Patridge, administrative assistant, school of education

Stacey Shutter, administrative assistant, college of fine arts.

Along with the employee of the year award, 72 service awards were given by President White. The list was headed by Shellety Cordulack, 40 years; Ed Acheson and Randal Beck, 35 years; and Cheryl Chamblin, Karen Klein, Tony Liberatore and Rene Verry, 30 years.

White, recently named president after a few months as interim president, praised the group as “exceptionally talented.”|(217) 421-7981

Copyright 2015 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

No Comments Posted.

Add Comment
You must Login to comment.

Click here to get an account it's free and quick

Activate subscription button gif

Featured Contest

H&R 100 Picks Contest

H&R 100 Picks Contest

REGISTER NOW! Once the list is revealed, pick the driver that you think will win the H&R 100 for a chance to win a Family Pack from Macon Speedway!

Deals & Offers

More Offers
Follow the Herald & Review