Owens

IHSA rules Owens ineligible after transfer to MacArthur

2013-02-01T01:00:00Z 2013-02-01T16:15:42Z IHSA rules Owens ineligible after transfer to MacArthurH&R staff report Herald-Review.com
February 01, 2013 1:00 am  • 

The IHSA ruled that Jaquay Owens is not eligible to play football for MacArthur High School for the 2013 season.

Owens enrolled at MacArthur for the second semester after spending his first 1 1/2 years at Eisenhower High School.

He played running back for the Eisenhower varsity team his freshman and sophomore seasons.

The IHSA made the decision on Tuesday evening and the family was notified on Thursday morning.

Owens declined comment.

A release by the IHSA said: The student changed residences from the Eisenhower attendance area to the MacArthur attendance area, but the move resulted in the student no longer complying with the IHSA residence and transfer by-laws, thus resulting in ineligibility based upon, IHSA By-laws 3.030 and 3.040.

IHSA Executive Director Marty Hickman cited two main reasons for the decision.

“He has to (move in) with someone who has been assigned custody through the court system,” Hickman said.

Hickman also said Eisenhower did not concur with the transfer.

But there is an opening for Owens to play football next year. Hickman said if Owens were to return to Eisenhower and the schools went through the eligibility procedures with the IHSA, “He would likely be eligible.”

There is also an appeal process.

“They can appeal to our board of directors,” Hickman said. “The board of directors hear all the appeals of my eligibility rulings.”

Owens rushed for 1,071 yards during his sophomore season, gaining them at a clip of 5.8 yards per carry. He became the first Eisenhower player to run for more than 1,000 yards since Brit Miller went for 1,199 yards for the Panthers in 2004.

Decatur School District officials did not comment, citing confidentiality matters.

Copyright 2015 Herald-Review.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

(22) Comments

  1. bowens
    Report Abuse
    bowens - April 18, 2013 10:53 am
    Jaquay is eligible now!!!!!! So we can truly put it all to rest. GO GENERALS Lol
  2. WTF1
    Report Abuse
    WTF1 - February 11, 2013 2:36 pm
    Actually Nevergreen, you are and have always been against any and all reasons a student wants to transfer.

    as you stated below --"The real sad question is why are the kids hopping around, leaving their longtime friends, family"

    Seems to me you are against any reason!!
  3. Evergreen
    Report Abuse
    Evergreen - February 10, 2013 8:02 pm
    bo. never said he would not play this year. I do not go telling you that you do not know what your talking about try to do the same to me. Could care less what the reason is, find on here where I was against the reason.
  4. bowens
    Report Abuse
    bowens - February 09, 2013 11:59 pm
    Evergreen Jaquay will play at MHS next year. Period, Point, Blank. You don't know what your talking about because you have 0 information. There was a safety issue sir, that you have no clue about thats a big reason for the transfer, but you just talk to talk at this point cause you don' t know.
  5. Evergreen
    Report Abuse
    Evergreen - February 09, 2013 9:25 am
    In looking at it, it is not a legal transfer yet. What is so hard for you to say that. What. That was the ruling. Where do you come up with your ideas. Where. Luckily, the people enforcing the rules are not sympathizers of the parties.
  6. Steelmen40
    Report Abuse
    Steelmen40 - February 08, 2013 12:28 pm
    In looking at it, it is a a legal transfer. The student is enrolled in classes at the school of his PARENTS CHOICE. He has not played a football game, and costed a team victories for illegal participation. Its a matter of semantics. I would think if the PARENTS had known they needed legal custody papers they would have took care of it.
  7. Evergreen
    Report Abuse
    Evergreen - February 08, 2013 10:50 am
    Yes, but they are supposed to do the legal transfer first.
  8. Steelmen40
    Report Abuse
    Steelmen40 - February 08, 2013 9:58 am
    From the past posts it looks like this student is now living with his FATHER in another school's boundary area. It appears there was not a legal court approved parental custody arrangement for the student between the PARENTS. It would appear that once there is a legal court approved parental arrangement between the PARENTS as to the custody and residence of the student, then the ISHA would also have to appove the participation of the student. PARENTS have a right to be advocates for their children. If that calls for them legally transfering to another school for a perceived better chance of positioning their childs future, then PARENTS have every right to do so.
  9. Evergreen
    Report Abuse
    Evergreen - February 06, 2013 10:27 am
    Uncle Owen, look, sometimes we have to learn to deal with the school we go to. Just because someone has "family" here there or everywhere does not make transfering your call for sports participation. We all have to live by the rules. No one forces anyone to play, or join the IHSA. They have no stake in the kids future. They have to be neutral and go by the rules. The rules are there for a reason.
  10. bowens
    Report Abuse
    bowens - February 05, 2013 4:14 pm
    Panther4life this is his uncle and you don't know what your talking about. He didn't just put address down he lives with his dad period, point , blank. And if you were there last yr, then you know that the kids don't work period. And this was a family decision, that's all people need to know. You people haven't talk to the college coaches, you don't know his situation. He will not have to sit once the paperwork is done. The courts only move so fast. Eisenhower is just not a situation were kids prosper, academically or athletically. We have family at both schools. This is a non issue and its amazing how people speculate. The things you said young man are correct but one kid can't stay somewhere just because. It has to make sense and due to the fact that your coach can't be trusted is a major, major, issue. And it's been proven he can't. The icing on the cake son.
  11. Evergreen
    Report Abuse
    Evergreen - February 04, 2013 4:15 pm
    Hey Larry, spelling procter. I just called you a different name, ( making fun of you cause you did not answer my statement) regarding your statement as to how you proclaim mf a much different situaiton. What was it that made mf different. It was not hard to see what was in question all along. You think residency was not the issue all along at mf. What was the issue.
  12. HarryDunn
    Report Abuse
    HarryDunn - February 04, 2013 9:32 am
    I was pretty much making fun of you cause you couldn't spell innocence correctly, but obviously you didn't catch that. Nor do you seem to catch on to anything else. I almost feel sorry for you.
  13. panther4life
    Report Abuse
    panther4life - February 04, 2013 1:52 am
    A major reason why this was all brought up is because when you loose one of your best players to another school you would want to look into it. The IHSA has every right to do what there doing. My thought is that Owens should stay and Eishenhower and continue to play and not have to sit out for a year. I played with Owens this past season and he is very special not only as a player but as a person to. The biggest thing in this case is like a said before when you loose one of your best player the staff is going to look into and investigate to make sure nothing is out of order. When the article says "he has to move in" that means he has to be living there personaly he can not just put the adress down and not live there. The way i see it that Owens should stay not just because i am a former team mate, but because he has done so many things for the football program like earning 1,000 yards rushing thats a big step up from the previous years and he is a natural born leader my thoughts were that he was the heart an soul of the team this past season during practice and most important during the games
  14. Evergreen
    Report Abuse
    Evergreen - February 03, 2013 7:28 pm
    Harry, do not dodge my comments. You used the word innocense first, not me. As for the IHas, guess what, you also know who they are too.
    As for your free country, the ISAH has the right to run their organiztion under their rules, like them or not. You leave your freedom at the door once you say, count me a member.
    Do not play dumb, its whats best for me, forget my friends, and look out here I come attitude that we see today with parents and transferring.
    Regarding your reference to bitter, you seem to have a handle on that in your response.
  15. THardaway
    Report Abuse
    THardaway - February 02, 2013 6:46 pm
    Because many of you don't know the Owens situation you speculate. Kids don't leave lifelong friends in Decatur by going from one school to the other!!! It's Decatur they went to the samd grade schools. Many are family and Owens has family at MacArthur, some who teach, very smart and good family. His uncle played there in the mid to late 90s. Many people wondered why he didn't go to Mac out of 8th grade because most of the kids he won the 8th grade State title with at Robertson Charter go the Mac because dad was already in Mac district.
  16. HarryDunn
    Report Abuse
    HarryDunn - February 02, 2013 1:24 am
    No idea what you mean by "innocense" and not sure who the "ihas" is.
    Are you asking me why the IHSA was snooping around this particular case, or the Maroa-Forsyth case that was proven to be a waste of time? If you are talking about the current case, I would assume that Eisenhower administration filed a complaint to the IHSA due to the transfer not being approved by Eisenhower, and obviously they knew of some issues regarding what looks to be a custody issue. Did you read the article?

    I assume people are leaving their long time friends and certain schools because it's a free country and parents and families will do what they think is best for them and their family. I'm sure the 2 or 3 friends that you actually keep throughout high school into later life will still associate with Mr. Owens, and would understand the move. If not, then they aren't real friends. I would bet that some of your current best friends didn't go to the same grade school/middle school/high school as you did. So get over it.


    If you are bitter against people that haven't stayed in the same town their whole life, then you are in the minority these days. I also hope that high level of loyalty has kept you at the same job your whole life, if not, that would just be wrong to leave all your co-workers just to better your family and your situation.
  17. Evergreen
    Report Abuse
    Evergreen - February 01, 2013 9:24 pm
    Harry, thanks for letting us all know about how the IHSA is wrong in some cases and right in others.. what was it, they have more than enough information backing up their innocense. Please Harry, just why was the ihas snooping around in the first place. Why.
    The real sad question is why are the kids hopping around, leaving their longtime friends, family. Why.
  18. Bfrays
    Report Abuse
    Bfrays - February 01, 2013 3:36 pm
    IHSA does not superceed the State. And a lawyer would eat this case alive. It would never get to that point because once the dad provides the proper paperwork, this will be fine. Guess What!!! Even if the father has custody and EHS complained the IHSA would've still had to investigate because of the written complaint. It's has nothing to do with paperwork being wrong, it's just wasn't all in before EHS wined and complained. Got some clarity from Owens' family members. I'll bet 9 times outta 10 he will be eligible to play at MAC next season.Before any of you speculate his mother sign over custody with no problem/objections. No living with aunts/uncles etc. It's very clear IHSA had to rule before they had all the info. This is nothing like the Maroa situation
  19. gladidontliveindecatur
    Report Abuse
    gladidontliveindecatur - February 01, 2013 12:56 pm
    I have seen similar situations to this before- and Im not saying that the following is the situtation for this particular kid.
    Divorced parents. Father lives in another school district. Kid decides he wants to go to school in that district. Mother doesnt want to change custody situation because she fears a potential affect on child support, taxes, etc.
    Doesnt matter how great the kid is, that has absolutely no bearing on the matter. The IHSA is right to stand by its bylaws. Think about how the IHSA arrived at these rules- kids flip/flopping schools, going to live with an aunt/uncle, friend, whatever allowed them to change to what they considered a more benefitial situation. IHSA is pretty clear- change in custody/legal guardianship is necessary in order to change public school districts.
  20. HarryDunn
    Report Abuse
    HarryDunn - February 01, 2013 12:19 pm
    Just to be clear, the students currently living with their parents in Maroa-Forsyth district were not investigated because they weren't living with their legal guardian, they were investigated based on questioning of residency. Any school can ask for an investigation, and the IHSA will have to follow up. The students and their families had more than enough information backing up their innocence.

    Obviously there was clear evidence that something didn't match with the bylaws of the IHSA. Not saying I agree, but I also don't know all the facts. But if it says custody of a child, and the dad doesn't have legal custody (appointed by the courts), then the IHSA has to stick with what the bylaw says, right?
  21. salukillni4ever
    Report Abuse
    salukillni4ever - February 01, 2013 11:13 am
    This is ridiculous. He is living with his Dad. Who lives in Macs district. What a shame. I have helped coached Quay in JFL and had him at my house many times and this kid is totally class. Great kid, determined, has the heart of a champion and now to go through the process to enroll in the district with his father and be denied is JUST PLAIN WRONG. IHSA is a joke. You have Maroa transfers and this isnt exceptable? Why would he wanna go back to Eisenhower since they didnt agree with it. Hopefulley he can go to Mac or to a private school in the area.
  22. Bfrays
    Report Abuse
    Bfrays - February 01, 2013 10:20 am
    Wow!!!! The Sad Part in Herald-Review didn't saythe person he moved in with HIS FATHER who has been in his life since day one. Parents have a great relationship so for 16 yrs there has been no need for a custody order, the state of IL states that its 50/50 until the court says otherwise. The IHSA says different which is a legal issue within itself!!! Everyone in this city knows his father is more visible parent because of how his mom works. This is Really Disgusting Eisenhower. Wonder if they would apologize to the father when all is said and done.
Add Comment
You must Login to comment.

Click here to get an account it's free and quick

Get your sports to go

Get your sports to go

Download the new HR Illini and HR Preps Sports apps on your smartphone or tablet. They're fast and free.

MORE   »
DON'T MISS A THING! SIGN UP FOR EMAIL NEWS.

Read about it first from the Herald & Review. See an example

Get the latest local headlines from the Herald & Review. See an example

Get incredible deals in your inbox every day, with savings of 50% or more!

Be among the first to know about special offers from businesses near where you live and work!

Don't miss a chance to win big! Get our contest updates to stay in the know.

What to do this weekend? Enjoy the best Central Illinois has to offer with our email updates every Friday afternoon. See an example

Receive the current days obituaries in your email!

Deals & Offers

More Offers

Featured Businesses

More Businesses