DECATUR — Twenty-six golfers will be trying to qualify these next two weekends for a limited number of spots on the Decatur Signature Cup golf team.

A total of 13 men’s division golfers will be trying to claim one of the four available spots. And 13 seniors will be competing for three spots.

The qualifying will begin Saturday and Sunday and golfers can choose to simultaneously compete in the Decatur Golf Association stroke play tournament.

The qualifying will be medal play with 18 holes Saturday at Hickory Point and 18 Sunday at Red Tail Run.

After 36 holes, Signature Cup captain Kurtis Rogers said the low six seniors and ties will advance to the following Saturday. Then they will play 18 more holes at Red Tail Run. Sudden death will be used to break ties and the low three will compose the senior division on the Signature Cup team.

In the men’s division, golfers will carry their 36-hole scores to next Saturday when they will play 36 more holes at Red Tail Run.

Again, sudden death will be used to break ties and the low four will be added to Rogers’ four captains picks for the Signature Cup team. His captain’s picks are Greg Davis, Roe Skidmore Jr., Kraig Rogers and Matt Minder.

Golfers in the women’s division and pro division have already been selected.

The women’s players are Gabbi Schuerman, Ashley Miller and Hayley Rogers. The pros are Steve Orrick of the Country Club of Decatur, Nick Taute of South Side Country Club and Kurtis Rogers of Red Tail Run.

Team Decatur will compete against the Bloomington-Normal team in the seventh annual Signature Cup June 29-30 at Red Tail Run. It is a match play competition that includes four-ball and alternate shot play the first day and singles play the second day.

Decatur won the inaugural event in 2007 but Bloomington-Normal has dominated since, winning the last five Signature Cups.

Here are the golfers who have signed up trying to qualify for the Signature Cup and their tee times on Saturday at Hickory Point:

Men’s division

8:20 a.m. – Christian Crabill, Josh Alldridge

8:30 a.m. – Kyle Rogers, Sam Osborne

8:40 a.m. – Chad Burrus, Matt Bean, Billy Janisch

8:50 a.m. – Hunter York, Brian Overholser, Cody Redman

9 a.m. – Matt Kwasnik, Colby Burdick, Kevin Miller

Senior division

9:10 a.m. – Steve Spinner, Bob Roth, Jack Thomas

9:20 a.m. – Bobby Holmes, Roger Lewis, Brad Scherer

9:30 a.m. – Scott Duncan, Ed Flynn, Larry Osborne

9:40 a.m. – Les Taylor, Denny Hill, Jerry Rogers, Roy Mosser

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.