Try 3 months for $3

MOUNT ZION — Entries from Illinois, Indiana, Iowa and Ohio compete Friday and Saturday, Jan. 17-18, in the annual Midwest Show Choir Invitational at Mount Zion High School. 

Leading off Friday at 6 p.m. are singing/dancing performances by the Mount Zion Intermediate Sixth Grade Sound and Mount Zion Junior High Vocal Trax. Junior high school competition follows with Decatur Johns Hill Xperience, Decatur Thomas Jefferson and Sullivan Singers Jr. among the entries. A 9:30 p.m. exhibition performance by the Mount Zion Junior High Sound System and the awards presentation follow.

On Saturday, competition in the small school/unisex division begins at 9 a.m. After lunch, 11 schools are entered in the mixed open division. Decatur Elite Energy performs at 4:15 p.m. and the Sullivan Singers at 4:45 p.m. Mount Zion Les Femmes puts on its exhibition show at 5:15 p.m.

Solo competition is at 6:45 and 6:50 p.m. The six finalists from the mixed open division then battle it out starting at 7 p.m. The Mount Zion Swingsations present their competition show at 10 p.m. with the awards ceremony at 10:30 p.m

The competition is open to the public with tickets at the door. Friday admission is $10, $8 for students age 18 and under, free for ages 5 and under. Saturday admission is $15, $10 for students, age 5 and under free. Admission to the finals only is $10. Food will be available in the cafetorium, 4 to 10 p.m, Friday and 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. Saturday.

Mount Zion Swingsations

Michael Swengel is the new director of the Swingsations and Les Femmes, replacing Michael Winslow, who left for another job.

Swengel is a native of Harvard, and a graduate of North Central College, Naperville. He comes to Mount Zion from Milton, Wis., where he was a vocal music teacher and show choir director at the seventh to 12th grade level for three years.

Brenna See is the assistant director, Dwight Jordan is the choreographer, Zach Garrett is the combo director.


Seniors: Taylor Bordewick, Ted Bowrey, Trevor Dilbeck, Grant Gahwiler, Madison Johnson, Craig Kenney, Tyler Klrby, Brandon Lane, Bryant Lane, Miranda Richards, Hayley Robinson, Logan Schmidt, Ali Scogin, Elizabeth Whitley, Devin Bowling, Greg Brinkman. Deckard Elder, Noah Gingerich, Dalton Goebel

Juniors: Gentiana Ballahzi, Melanie Casner, Grey Davis, Mary Claire Demirjian. Carly Hofreiter, Brian James, Aaron Mendenall, Hannah Perry, Shanna See, Madison Stoecker, Tristan Wyatt

Sophomores: Aaron Barnett, Logan Bruner, Mikayla Krieger, Adrianna Laskowski, Alyssa Lingafelter, Samantha Moore. Megan Schniederjan, Ian Sidwell, Madison Sphar, Jarett Watkins, Nate Westerfield, Wes Fathauer, Will Fathauer, Sam Greenwood, Jon Lones

Freshmen: Brianna Bradley, Blake Eggers, Ryan Gosda, Allyson Hotwick, Tanner Keller, Gage Poulos, Brendan Richardson, Tim Rominger, Brandon Schmidt, Joey Scott, Brooke Shelton, Garrett Stoecker, Noah Walker, Mary Kate Whitley


Chloe Albert, Lauren Allen, Erica Besser, Madelyn Boaz, Delaney Bowling, Abbey Bowery, Jamie Brown, Kaitlin Chisenall, Samantha Dewey, Sydney Forbes, Allison Gray, Hanna Gruen, Elizabeth Harding. Jordan High

Kaley Holden, Marilyn Hughey, Brooke Humphrey, Katie Jacobs, Karlie Jeffers, Caitlyn Latshaw, Margo Lanier, Chloe Lindgren, Fallon Markwell, Emily Mears, Shelby Myers, Kaylei McIntyre, Sophie Perry, Elly Pounders

Kelsey Pygott, Madysen Sharp, Kathlynn Sims, Sam Sperry, Alexis Streibich, Claudia Streibich, Ariel Warner, Clara Walker, Haven Watrous, Tiffany Wilson, Tawni Williams, Kaley Vahlkamp, Jenny Zuber


Devin Bowling, trumpet; Greg Brinkman, trumpet; Jon Lones, trombone; Tristan Wyatt, saxophone; Wes Fathauer, trombone; Will Fathauer, saxophone; Noah Gingerich, trombone; Dalton Goebel, guitar; Deckard Elder, bass; Sam Greenwood, drums; Sydney Forbes, keyboard; Samantha Dewey, keyboard; Brandon Schmidt, keyboard; Garrett Stoecker, keyboard.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments