Antwain E. Johnson, Danny L. Norman, Leonde D. Johnson

Antwain E. Johnson, Danny L. Norman, Leonde D. Johnson

DECATUR — The last member of a three-man Decatur burglary team who had all been caught red-handed, counting out the loot has been sentenced to four years in prison.

Danny L. Norman, 34, was sentenced Thursday in Macon County Circuit Court. Norman was represented by defense attorney Douglas Johnson and the sentence was part of a plea deal that saw Norman plead guilty to a single count of burglary, a Class 2 felony.

The four-year sentence was ordered to be served consecutively to a three-year prison sentence Norman was sentenced to May 20 in Tazewell County Circuit Court on a separate charge of burglary.

Sworn Decatur police affidavits related to the Decatur case said Norman was one of three men arrested in a van in Springfield on the early morning of Nov. 17, 2018. The affidavits said a Sangamon County Sheriff’s patrol officer had walked up on a sport utility vehicle and found the men inside busy counting their way through armfuls of stolen cash.

Decatur detectives said the men had just burgled Lacey’s Place, 985 West Pershing Road, and had fled to Springfield after emptying an ATM machine in the video gambling parlor.

Of the other members of the burglary team, Leonde D. Johnson, 42, pleaded guilty to a charge of burglary March 5 and was sentenced to three years in prison. And Antwain E. Johnson, 33, pleaded guilty to a charge of burglary August 30, 2018, and was sentenced to 24 months probation and ordered to pay $10,325 in restitution.

2019 mugshots from the Herald & Review

Sign up for our Crime & Courts newsletter

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Contact Tony Reid at (217) 421-7977. Follow him on Twitter: @TonyJReid


Load comments