Subscribe for 33¢ / day

DECATUR — The final wave of candidates looking to run in the March 20 primary submitted petitions Monday.

With a governorship, Congress, Illinois House and Senate seats and county sheriff in play next year, the ballot has been filling up fast.

The five candidates who filed petitions for county offices on Monday all intend to run for seats on the Macon County Board, Bean said. They are:

  • Linda Little, Republican for District 1
  • Verzell Taylor, Democrat for District 2
  • Jim Gresham, Republican for District 3
  • Kevin Bird, Republican for District 6
  • Matthew Brown, Republican for District 6

Among the candidates who filed petitions during the previous week:

Macon County Board

  • Kevin Meachum, Democrat for District 1
  • Laura Zimmerman, Democrat for District 1
  • Jerry Potts, Democrat for District 3
  • Jay Dunn, Democrat for District 4
  • Gregory Mattingley, Republican for District 4
  • Lloyd Holman, Democrat for District 4
  • Grant Noland, Republican for District 5
  • John D. Jackson, Republican for District 7
  • Dustin Chapman, Republican for District 7
  • Phillip Hogan, Republican for District 7

Macon County Sheriff

  • Jim Root, Republican
  • Jon Butts and Tony Brown, Democrats

Macon County Clerk

  • Samantha Murray and Josh Tanner, Republicans
  • Amy Rueff, Democrat

Macon County Treasurer

  • Edward Yoder, Republican
  • April Kostenski and Shavon Francis, Democrats

Bean previously said that a lottery will be held at 3 p.m. Tuesday to determine the ballot order for the Republican candidates of county clerk and the Democratic candidates for sheriff and county treasurer.

Statewide, candidates hoping to run for Congress, the Illinois House of Representatives and the state senate have also filed petitions with the State Board of Elections within the past week.

U.S. Rep. Rodney Davis, R-Taylorville, will seek his fourth term in Washington, but a number of Democrats are hoping to once again make the 13th Congressional District race a competitive one.

The candidates include Edwardsville’s Erik Jones, Springfield’s Betsy Dirksen Londrigan, Springfield's Angel Sides and Bloomington’s David Gill. The latter was narrowly defeated by Davis in the 2012 election.

Three Republicans and a Democrat seek to replace outgoing state Rep. Bill Mitchell, R-Forsyth, in the 101st House District. The Republicans include Decatur’s Dan Caulkins, Cerro Gordo’s Todd Henricks and Monticello’s Randy Keith, while Decatur’s Jennifer McMillin is the lone Democrat who has filed.

State Rep. Sue Scherer, D-Decatur, will once again face opposition as she seeks her fourth term in the 96th House District, as Springfield’s Herman Senor has filed as the Republican candidate.

State Sen. Andy Manar, D-Bunker Hill, has filed to win a third term in the 48th Senate District, and will face a general election challenge from either Taylorville’s Seth McMillan or Sawyerville’s Christopher Hicks, who are seeking the GOP nomination in next spring’s primary election.

Ives said in remarks released early Monday by her campaign that she'll side with "taxpaying Illinois families" instead of the "political ruling class." She notes that she supported Rauner's campaign in 2014, but said Illinois needs a new path.

Democrats who already made their candidacies for governor official were billionaire hotel heir and investor J.B. Pritzker, businessman Chris Kennedy and state Sen. Daniel Biss.

Also, Democratic Sen. Michael Hastings of Tinley Park also filed petitions to challenge longtime Secretary of State Jesse White in the primary.

Hastings says he has respect for White but was unsure if he was going to seek a sixth term. He'll "wait and see" before making a final decision.

White's campaign director Rocco Claps says there's no doubt White is running. | (217) 421-7980. | (217) 421-7985.


Public Safety Reporter

Public safety reporter for the Herald & Review.

Macon County Reporter

Macon County reporter for the Herald & Review.

Load comments