Skip to main contentSkip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.

Jefferson among five finalists for MVP award — and the only non-QB

  • Updated
  • 0
Vikings wide receiver Justin Jefferson led the NFL in catches and yards.

Vikings wide receiver Justin Jefferson led the NFL in catches (128) and yards (1,809). (Anthony Souffle/Minneapolis Star Tribune/TNS)

Ten years after Adrian Peterson became the last non-quarterback to win NFL MVP honors, another Vikings player has a chance to beat out a QB for the award — and make history at his position.

Vikings receiver Justin Jefferson is one of five finalists for league MVP honors alongside four quarterbacks: the Chiefs' Patrick Mahomes, the Bengals' Joe Burrow, the Bills' Josh Allen and the Eagles' Jalen Hurts.

No receiver has won NFL MVP honors; Jerry Rice finished second in 1987, and the only two receivers to get votes for the award since Rice were Randy Moss (four votes in 1998) and Cooper Kupp (one vote last year). The Associated Press changed its voting procedures this year, however, allowing voters to rank five candidates for MVP honors.

If Jefferson were to win MVP, he'd be the fourth Vikings player to win it, joining Alan Page in 1971, Fran Tarkenton in 1975 and Peterson in 2012.

Jefferson, Mahomes and Hurts are also the finalists for NFL Offensive Player of the Year honors. The winners of both awards, and the others selected by the AP's 50-person panel of NFL media members, will be announced during the NFL Honors program on Feb. 9.

Voters made their choices at the end of the regular season; the shift to the ranked-choice format could give Jefferson a better chance against the quarterbacks in the MVP field. Realistically, though, he might have a better chance at winning Offensive Player of the Year, a season after Kupp did it for the Rams.

Jefferson, who led the league in catches (128) and yards (1,809), would be the first Vikings player to win Offensive Player of the Year since Peterson in 2012. Only two Vikings — Peterson and Fran Tarkenton in 1975 — have won the award in its 51-year history.

The same national media panel made Jefferson a unanimous selection to the first-team All-Pro team earlier this month. Mahomes and Hill were voted ontor that team; Hurts was a second-team All-Pro.

On Wednesday, the Pro Football Writers Association — made up of hundreds of media members from around the country — voted Jefferson the NFL Offensive Player of the Year, while giving MVP honors to Mahomes. Jefferson is the second Vikings player to win the top offensive prize from the PFWA, following Peterson in 2012.

Despite leading the Vikings to a 13-4 record in his first season, Kevin O'Connell was not named a finalist for NFL Coach of the Year in the AP ballot. Two coaches in their first year with their teams — the Giants' Brian Daboll and the Jaguars' Doug Pederson — are finalists, as are the 49ers' Kyle Shanahan, the Bills' Sean McDermott and the Eagles' Nick Sirianni.

Pederson won a Super Bowl with the Eagles after the 2017 season; Daboll is the only finalist who's in his first year as a NFL coach. The Giants beat the Vikings in the playoffs, but voters cast their ballots at the end of the regular season, when the Vikings had beaten the Giants and finished with a better record than both the Giants and Jaguars.


* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Christian McCaffrey scored the go-ahead touchdown on a 2-yard run in the fourth quarter and San Francisco’s defense did the rest, sending the 49ers to their second straight NFC title game with a 19-12 victory over the Dallas Cowboys. San Francisco advanced to play the Eagles in the NFC title game next Sunday in Philadelphia after losing in that round to the Rams a year ago. The Cowboys lost for the record seventh straight time in the divisional round and have failed to make it to the NFC title game since winning their fifth Super Bowl title following the 1995 season.

The Chiefs' Patrick Mahomes walked through Arrowhead Stadium as if nothing was amiss Wednesday, his sprained right ankle hardly hampering the All-Pro quarterback as he began preparing for the AFC title game against the Cincinnati Bengals.

Brock Purdy's NFL career started with the moniker of "Mr. Irrelevant" and the weeklong trip to Newport Beach to celebrate the player picked last in the draft. With one more win, Purdy's rookie season in the NFL will end on the brightest stage of all as a starting quarterback in the Super Bowl for the San Francisco 49ers.

Ran Carthon says he has been so busy earning a job as an NFL general manager that he hasn't had time to contemplate the history and meaning of becoming the Tennessee Titans' first Black GM. Carthon says an aunt texted to warn him that the question about making history would come and that was when he realized it. Carthon says his goal is to be successful and leave the door open for other Black men. 

Two years in a row the Dallas Cowboys have flubbed their last-ditch drives against the San Francisco 49ers in the playoffs. Last year, Dak Prescott ran too far on a quarterback draw and handed the ball to his center instead of the umpire. Time expired before he could get off one more play for a Hail Mary. This time, it was those around him who made the mistakes. 

Chiefs coach Andy Reid said Monday that Patrick Mahomes will play in the AFC championship game against the Bengals. He also said the high ankle sprain that the All-Pro quarterback sustained over the weekend against the Jaguars is less severe than the one he played through during the 2019 season opener.

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News