One of the great early March Madness dynasties will be honored in the first Decatur Public Schools Athletic Hall of Fame class of 2019.

Three state champions — the Decatur High School 1930-31, 1935-36 and 1944-45 boys basketball teams — will be inducted at halftime of the Jan. 11 Eisenhower and MacArthur boys basketball game, along with 10 athletes and a coach.

The athletes are K.C. Hammond-Diedrich (Eisenhower, Class of 1996), Cary Eller (Eisenhower, 1968), Lee Boyko (Eisenhower, 1963), Terra (Crutchfield-Tyus) Jones (MacArthur, 1992), Tim Littrell (MacArthur, 1977), Marcus Phillips (MacArthur, 1992), Lee Utt (Decatur, 1952), Aaron Holloway (Stephen Decatur, 1966), David Marques (Lakeview, 1972), Eddie Taylor (Lakeview, 1980) and former Stephen Decatur coach Rease Binger (1976-93).

All three Decatur state title basketball teams were coached by Gay Kintner, who was part of the first DPS Athletic Hall of Fame Class in August 2016.

Load comments