Try 1 month for 99¢
1930-31 Decatur High School (copy)

The 1930-31 Decatur High School state title team will be among the inductees at Friday's Decatur Public Schools Athletic Hall of Fame ceremony during halftime of the Eisenhower at MacArthur game.

DECATUR — The sixth class of the Decatur Public Schools Athletic Hall of Fame will be honored at halftime of Friday's Eisenhower at MacArthur varsity boys basketball game.

The first of two classes planned for 2019 includes three state champion boys basketball teams from the early days of Illinois March Madness — the Decatur High School teams from 1930-31, 1935-36 and 1944-45.

The athletes in the class include K.C. Hammond-Diedrich (Eisenhower, Class of 1996), Cary Eller (Eisenhower, 1968), Lee Boyko (Eisenhower, 1963), Terra (Crutchfield-Tyus) Jones (MacArthur, 1992), Tim Littrell (MacArthur, 1977), Marcus Phillips (MacArthur, 1992), Lee Utt (Decatur, 1952), Aaron Holloway (Stephen Decatur, 1966), David Marques (Lakeview, 1972) and Eddie Taylor (Lakeview, 1980). Former Stephen Decatur boys basketball adn track coach Rease Binger (1976-93) will also be inducted.

All three Decatur state title basketball teams were coached by Gay Kintner, who was part of the first DPS Athletic Hall of Fame Class in August 2016.

All the members of the latest class will be introduced at halftime. The JV game begins at 6 p.m., with the varsity game after.

The game will be the first between the city rivals this season. The teams split the two Central State 8 games last year, with each winning on the other's home floor.

MacArthur is 7-9, 3-4 in the Central State 8. The Generals, led by Kaeden Lawary and Keon Jones, have won two straight CS8 games.

Eisenhower (6-9, 3-4 CS8) is led by sophomore R.J. Walker and freshman Brylan Phillips.


Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments